West Tyrone Constituency Results

UK General Elections 2024: Órfhlaith Begley Retains West Tyrone Seat in 2024 General Election

Voters across the West Tyrone constituency have cast their ballots in the 2024 General Election, with the constituency’s MP for 2024 now declared. This Westminster seat, established in 1997 from parts of the former Foyle and Mid-Ulster constituencies, has been under Sinn Féin’s control since 2001.

Sinn Féin’s Órfhlaith Begley has successfully retained her seat, securing a total of 22,711 votes. In the previous 2019 election, Begley held a majority of 7,478 votes over Tom Buchanan of the DUP, having initially been elected in a by-election a year earlier following Barry McElduff’s resignation. The seat was formerly occupied by Pat Doherty of Sinn Féin and, before 2001, by the UUP’s William Thompson.

UK General Elections 2024: Live Updates: Results, Map, and Tracker

Polls closed at 10 PM on Thursday, July 4, with vote counts taking place overnight. Results from across the UK will continue to be announced in the early hours of Friday, and you can follow all the updates via our live blog.

West Tyrone Constituency Results

Órfhlaith Begley (Sinn Féin): 22,711
Matthew Bell (UUP): 2,683
Tom Buchanan (DUP): 6,794
Stephen Donnelly (Alliance): 2,287
Leza Houston (Aontú): 778
Stephen Lynch (Conservatives): 91
Daniel McCrossan (SDLP): 5,821
Stevan Patterson (TUV): 2,530

You can find all the results for the West Tyrone constituency and other UK constituencies in the interactive widget below. This will update once each count has been declared, showing who won the seat and the vote count for each candidate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *